The Old Bacon Academy was built in 1803. It was home to the local high school until 1962. The building is still being used for educational purposes on the first floor, while the second and third floors are used to display artifacts from the Bacon Academy Board of Trustees and Colchester Historical Society.
Colchester Historical Society Museum
The Colchester Historical Society Museum houses exhibits about people and institutions that are affiliated with Colchester.
Thomas Lee House
Built ca. 1660 the Thomas Lee House is one of the oldest wood frame houses in the state of Connecticut. The house was owned by the Lee family for over 200 years, and was bought by the East Lyme Historical Society in 1914. The Thomas Lee House was opened to the public in 1915, with a special guest, former President Howard Taft in attendance.
The Little Boston Schoolhouse
Originally dating back to 1734, the Little Boston Schoolhouse was used up until 1922 as a school. It received its of its hopes to become a center of learning and culture. Along with the three R’s of grammar school, navigation, astronomy, science, Greek and Latin were also taught.
Rich with Revolutionary War history Fort Griswold is where the Battle of Groton Heights occurred on September 6, 1781. The grounds are open from sunrise to sundown.
Ebenezer Avery House
Located in Groton the Ebenezer Avery House once served as a makeshift hospital for the wounded American soldiers after the Battle of Groton Heights in September 6, 1781.
Submarine Force Museum
The Submarine Force Museum is the only submarine museum owned and operated by the United States Navy, which provides visitors a unique glimpse into the world of American submarines. From Revolutionary War history to being the home of the first nuclear powered submarine, the USS NAUTILUS (SSN 571), the museum is rich with history.
Bill Memorial Library
Located in the city of Groton, next to Fort Griswold, the Bill Memorial Library has been operating since 1888. The Library welcomes patrons to visit and do research; however, most materials in the genealogy/local history collection do not circulate. A photocopier is available on the premises for a nominal fee. Items in the regular collection can be borrowed by patrons with a library card from any Connecticut library.
Groton Public Library
Located in Groton, the Groton Public Library welcomes visitors to do research and browse the shelves; however, visitors will not be able to check out books without a library card.
Lebanon Historical Society Museum and Visitor Center
Explore Lebanon’s rich history at this modern museum. The Lebanon Historical Society has changing exhibits, children’s hands-on history room, genealogy & research library. Their outdoor campus features a unique collection of historic buildings and a farming exhibit.
A 1790s 1½ -story farm house. Home of Samuel and Lucretia and the childhood home of Dr. William Beaumont, considered the “father of gastric physiology.” Interpreted as the home of a farmer/craftsman, his wife and eight children in the early 1800s. Located on the Lebanon Historical Society Campus.
John Bishop Museum
Built in 1810, the John Bishop Museum has seven fireplaces and other unique features to showcase how a home would have looked in the 1800s. The house is owned by the Town of Lisbon, and leased for 100 years to the Lisbon Historical Society.
Serving the town of Montville the Raymond Library welcomes visitors to conduct their research; however, visitors will not be able to check out books without a library card. For more information you can contact the library at 860-848-9943.
Fort Trumbull saw action during the American Revolution when British troops led by Benedict Arnold took over the fort and burned the town of New London. It was a Civil War recruitment center for the Union Army, and also the original site of the U.S. Coast Guard Academy. In addition, it was the site of the Merchant Marine Officer Candidate School, and an Underwater Sound Lab, which helped with the development of anti and pro submarine research. Fort Trumbull is one of the many landmarks rich in history in New London County. For more information you can call 860-444-7591.
The Hempsted Houses
Residents of the Hempsted Houses, built in 1678 and 1759, have included some of New London’s first settlers, a Revolutionary War hero, two enslaved people and some of the city’s leading abolitionists. The 1678 house is one of the oldest and best-documented in New England.
Lyman Allyn Art Museum
Lyman Allyn Art Museum is a distinguished art museum located in New London, Connecticut. Founded in 1932 by Harriet Upson Allyn in memory of her seafaring father, Lyman Allyn, the museum serves the people of Southeastern Connecticut and general admission is always free to New London residents. Housed in a handsome Neo-Classical building designed by Charles A. Platt, the permanent collection includes over 15,000 objects from ancient times to the present: artworks from Africa, Asia, the Americas, and Europe, with particularly strong collections of American paintings, decorative arts, and Victorian toys and doll houses.
Slater Memorial Museum
Located on the campus of the Norwich Free Academy, the Slater Memorial Museum and Converse Art Gallery are part of the Norwich Free Academy, 108 Crescent Street, Norwich 06360. Housed in an exemplary Romanesque Revival building (1886), the museum features full scale plaster casts of Egyptian, Archaic, Greek, Roman and Renaissance sculpture; fine and decorative art representing 350 years of Norwich History: Asian, African, Egyptian, and European art and ethnographic material. An exhibition in the magnificent Sears Gallery tells the story of William and Ellen Slater’s ’round-the-World cruise with family and friends on their custom yacht Eleanor in 1894. The museum annually presents up to six temporary exhibitions of contemporary art.
Norwich Historical Society
The Norwich Historical Society ensures the rich history of Norwich continues to be preserved, protected, and promoted! The Norwich Historical Society is the lead agency of the Norwich Heritage Groups which consists of 15 non-profits focused on promoting heritage tourism in Norwich. The Norwich Historical Society assists in running the Norwich Heritage & Regional Visitors’ Center.
Located in downtown Norwich, the Otis Library offers a collection of genealogical and local history resources for use by visiting researchers. A small part of the collection is available to check out for 2 weeks with a current library card from any Connecticut public library.
Old Lyme Historical Society
The Old Lyme Historical Society was founded in 2005 with the intention of preserving the history of Old Lyme. The Society has been influential in restoring and preserving historical sites and artifacts throughout the town. For more information you can get in contact with the Society by calling them at 860-434-0684.
Florence Griswold Museum
Located in Old Lyme, the area was once one of the most famous art colonies in the country, now it is home to the Florence Griswold Museum. The Florence Griswold Museum plays a crucial role in fostering American Art.
Preston Public Library
Serving the town of Preston, the Preston Public Library welcomes visitors to come and do general research; however, visitors will not be able to check out books without a valid Connecticut library card. The Library holds copies of the Preston Historical Society files.